The Struggle

I was really struggling with focus and content of what to write. I got stuck in editing and rewriting already written material  over and over again. I lacked the self confidence and courage to move forward. Today I chipped away at it.

I read some of a book and I read my work to people who listened and cared for me and then I stepped back. I couldn’t see “the forest for the trees.” Which is someone who is too involved in the details of a problem to look at the situation as a whole. It broadened my  view point.

The inspiration does not flow from the spicket unless I turn the knob. Sometimes it takes a bit of work when its stuck. Sometimes it takes a step forward and then a step back until we get the motivation right. It seems like its a struggle a lot of the time, but if we just follow through with our work the self confidence will rise and the courage to move forward will become easier and the inspiration will begin to flow.

20160704_142308

Photograph by Marcie Fraser

 

2 thoughts on “The Struggle

  1. Thank you for letting me read this. I would also like to blog because the secret to writing better is to just write every day. Btw something I have struggled with also. To paraphrase the 60s “write on”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

