False prompt/ Intentions

My Daddy handed me two shiny silver quarters in the checkout line. “Go get yourself some candy.” I ran to the candy machines and excitedly eyed over my choices.

The machines were a number of red lidded boxes with see through sides so you could peer in to see all the random treasures. I noticed another excited little girl bouncing next to me asking her mom for a quarter, but her mom didn’t have one.

She had the most beautiful braids held together by colorful barrettes. Her head looked like a bright sunny flower garden.

I reached my hand out and offered her one of my quarters.

We both stared those machines down focusing, as we only had so much time left to choose. I put my quarter in and we turned the knob together. I heard the clink of the plastic ball come down the shoot. I grabbed my plastic container and looked in, A fuzzy green worm on a plastic string! My new friend put her quarter in and we turned the knob together, she got an Oscar Meyer weenie whistle!

We laughed and played for the few more moments until my Daddy came barrelling by and grabbed my hand. As we got to the parking lot he stopped and took his hand  and firmly slapped the back of my head. You don’t give quarters to a Black girl! That moment I learned mindful right from wrong.   False / Intentions

6 thoughts on “False prompt/ Intentions

  1. Sad, how innocent young minds can be infected with hate.
    I really like how you wrote it-I was about to comment that this is the sweetest story I’ve heard in a long time until I got to the last sentence.

    Like

  2. Great take on the prompt!
    Your blog is sublime 👌
    New, fresh,one which will prosper to great heights.
    Let me know anytime if we can help anyhow. Cheers dear! – Cezane

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

